1. Judge Not
2. One Cup of Coffee
3. Simmer Down
4. I’m Still Waiting
5. One Love/People Get Ready
6. Put It On
7. Bus Dem Shut (Pyaka)
8. Mellow Mood
9. Bend Down Low
10. Hypocrites
11. Stir It Up
12. Nice Time
13. Thank You Lord
14. Hammer
15. Caution
16. Back Out
17. Soul Shake Down Party
18. Do It Twice
19. Soul Rebel
20. Sun Is Shining
21. Don’t Rock the Boat
22. Small Axe
23. Duppy Conqueror
24. Mr. Brown
25. Screwface
26. Lick Samba
27. Trenchtown Rock
28. Craven Choke Puppy
29. Guava Jelly
30. Acoustic Medley
31. I’m Hurting Inside
32. High Tide or Low Tide
33. Slave Driver
34. No More Trouble
35. Concrete Jungle
36. Get Up Stand Up
37. Rastaman Chant
38. Burnin’ and Lootin’
39. Iron Lion Zion
40. Lively Up Yourself
41. Natty Dread
42. I Shot the Sheriff
43. No Woman No Cry
44. Who the Cap Fit
45. Jah Live
46. Crazy Baldheads
47. War
48. Johnny Was
49. Rat Race
50. Jamming
51. Waiting in Vain
52. Exodus
53. Natural Mystic
54. Three Little Birds
55. Running Away
56. Keep on Moving
57. Easy Skanking
58. Is This Love
59. Smile Jamaica
60. Time Will Tell
61. Africa Unite
62. Survival
63. One Drop
64. One Dub
65. Zimbabwe
66. So Much Trouble in the World
67. Ride Natty Ride
68. Babylon System
69. Coming in from the Cold
70. Real Situation
71. Bad Card
72. Could You Be Loved
73. Forever Loving Jah
74. Rastaman Live Up
75. Give Thanks and Praises
76. One Love/People Get Ready
77. Why Should I
78. Redemption Song


Songs of Freedom is a four-disc box set containing music by Bob Marley and the Wailers, from Marley’s first song “Judge Not” recorded in 1961, to a live version of “Redemption Song”, recorded in 1980 at his last concert.

The song “Iron Lion Zion” was first released on this compilation, in what is often considered the original mix (although the original is said to not have included the harmony vocals from the I-Threes). The single releases (and subsequent compilation releases) use a remix which was created for the single using modern production, which sounds very different.

“Why Should I” was remixed for this compilation and released as a single. The original wasn’t released until the JAD/Universal box set Man To Man in 2004. The original was recorded in 1971 and features Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer’s backing vocals, which were replaced by The I-Threes on the remix.
It is said to be complimentary to the greatest hits compilation Legend, in the sense that any of the tracks with the same names are presented in different versions from the normal single mixes on Legend – as an example see the number of 12″ mixes in the track listing below. The exception is the original version of Get Up Stand Up.


Songs of Freedom (1992)

Artist : Compilation
Genre : Reggae
Format : CD