"Rebellion Rises" by Ziggy Marley

Eight-time GRAMMY® award-winning musician and reggae icon Ziggy Marley will release his seventh full-length solo studio album, Rebellion Rises, on May 18th through Tuff Gong Worldwide. Fully written, recorded and produced by Marley, this passionate and indelible new collection of music encourages people to stand together in activism through love.

Pre-order the album today and stream the title track on all major music outlets at

Share on Facebook    Share on Twitter

Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues

Honoring 40 years since the release of TIME Magazine’s ‘Album of the Century’, Ziggy Marley intimately revisits the original session recordings, uncovering unused, never-before-heard vocals and instruction to create the restatement edition of ‘Exodus 40: The Movement Continues’!

The Freedom Vault
Featured Download
Bob Marley Browser Theme Click here to get to the official Bob Marley browser theme for Chrome, Firefox, Safari & I.E.!
Install Browser Theme

Browser theme includes support for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Internet Explorer. By installing this theme, you agree to BrandThunder’s License Agreementand   Privacy Policy

⇠ Back To Tour Dates


Roxy Theatre (Sugar Ray’s Foundation Benefit)
Los Angeles, CA
  • 500In Attendance
  • 20.00Ticket Price

Bands Played With

(no other acts)
The Setlist
  • 01.Positive Vibration

  • 02.Wake Up and Live

  • 03.Them Belly Full (But We Hungry)

  • 04.Concrete Jungle

  • 05.I Shot The Sheriff

  • 06.Ambush In The Night

  • 07.Running Away > Crazy Baldheads

  • 08.The Heathen

  • 09.War > No More Trouble

  • 10.Africa Unite

  • 11.One Drop

  • 12.Exodus

  • 13.Ride Natty Ride

  • 14.Zimbabwe

  • 15.Jammin'

  • 16.Rebel Music (3 O'Clock Roadblock)

  • 17.Stir It Up

  • 18.Is This Love?

  • 19.Get Up, Stand Up

About This Show
Band Lineup
  • Bob Marley, vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Aston Barrett, bass
  • Carlton Barrett, drums
  • Junior Marvin, lead guitar
  • Al Anderson, lead guitar
  • Tyrone Downie, keyboards
  • Earl "Wya" Lindo, organ
  • Alvin "Seeco" Patterson, percussion
  • Devon Evans, percussion
  • Glen DaCosta, saxophone
  • Dave Madden, trumpet
  • The I-Threes, backing vocals

Bob Marley and The Wailers return to Los Angeles, CA four days after having just played at UCLA’s Paul Pavilion, for a special concert benefitting the Sugar Ray Robinson foundation at the Roxy Theatre.

Roger Steffens spoke about this performance during an interview in 2003:

I last saw him at the end of November in Los Angeles, the night of his Roxy performance, a benefit for the Sugar Ray Robinson Foundation. I sat alone in the Roxy that afternoon with him for nearly 3 hours while he played all the instruments himself and Fams, his band leader, set the sound levels. The first hour he kept singing something I’d never heard before, a song about redemption. I was mesmerized.

That afternoon at the Roxy and 2 of the evenings that same week I arranged for him to see the work print of “Smile Jamaica” and the suppressed documentary about the assassination attempt; and the work print of Heartland Reggae with the One Love Peace Concert footage. Afterwards, we asked Bob what he felt standing there between Seaga and Manley, two men in whose names so many thousands of Jamaicans have been killed. “I man no politician,” he explained, “But if I man a politician only one t’ing for me to do – kill them both.”


Roxy 11-27-79